What is the difference between a vegetable or a fruit?

In the culinary world, fruits and vegetables are divided based on taste. Fruits are generally tart or sweet in flavor and tend to be used for desserts or juices. Fruit is the seed-bearing part of the plant, a vegetable is the roots of a plant. They can also be the leaves or the buds of the plant.