How do you know which way the grain goes on stainless steel?

To see the grain flow on a piece of steel requires either etching with a 25 percent solution of nitric or sulfuric acid and when the etching appears, flood with water. Oxidation is a method by etching the surface with a 3 : 2 : 1 solution of water, hydrochloric acid and hydrogen peroxide and flush.

---

Straight from the mill the grain direction should be visible. If the surface has been polished polarized light and a filter may show the grain.