What's the salt content of the ocean?

On average, seawater in the world's oceans has a salinity of approximately 3.5%, or 35 parts per thousand. This means that for every 1 litre or 1000 mL of seawater there are 35 grams of salts, mostly, but not entirely, sodium chloride dissolved in it.