Who is the first person to discover jupiter?

Since Jupiter is one of five planets visible in the night sky, it's hard to determine who was the first person to look up and realize what it was, but Galileo Galilei was the first to discover four of Jupiters many moons in 1610. This is considered to be the first step in Jupiter's exploration.