How long ago did wooly mammoths go extinct?

The majority of Wooly Mammoths went extinct about 10,000 years ago, though scientists believe isolated herds survived beyond that. A herd on an island off the coast of Alaska were thought to have died 5600 years ago. Environmental changes and hunting is thought to have contributed to the extinction

---

The population of woolly mammoths declined at the end of the Pleistocene, disappearing in most of its mainland range, although isolated populations survived on St. Paul Island until 5,600 years ago, on Wrangel Island until 4,000 years ago, and based on ancient eDNA in the Yukon up to 5,700 years ago