How fast does amtrak travel?

100 mph or greater

---

Along the Washington to Boston corridor, the fastest train can go about 150 miles per hour. On track not owned by Amtrak, the speed is set by the railroad that owns the track. Usual top speed is 89 miles per hour on the best track, slower on less well maintained track