What are carbon rings?

Many organic compounds contain rings of carbon atoms or other atoms such as oxygen or nitrogen. The simplest ring compound contains 3 carbons as in cyclopropane. The most common ring compounds contain either 5 or 6 carbons. These compounds are also called cyclic.