How hard is porcelain?

Both marble and porcelain are hard materials, but porcelain is rated on a PEI scale. Those tiles with a PEI (Porcelain Enamel Institute) hardness rating of 4 or 5 are good for home and business. A PEI rating of 3 is good for residential and only light commercial traffic.