Why is coal mining dangerous?

Coal mining is only dangerous when proper precautions are not taken. Modern laws have reduced deaths to a small fraction of what they were 100 years ago when this reputation was justly earned. Proper ventilation, better roof bolting and safe worker behavior has made mining much less risky today.