How does hypnotism work?

Hypnosis is a human condition involving focused attention, reduced peripheral awareness, and an enhanced capacity to respond to suggestion. Contrary to misconceptions, hypnotism isn't mind-control or mystical powers. It's a guide to help the person relax and fall into a trance-state, or waking sleep