What happens when a mosquito bites you?

A female mosquito bites a host by inserting her proboscis, a needle-like structure, into the skin to extract blood. Her saliva contains a substance that prevents blood from clotting so she can drink freely. The itching and allergic reaction is from the saliva.

---

When they bite you, they inject saliva into your body while siphoning your blood. Their saliva contains proteins that most people are allergic to. Your immune system springs into action, causing the telltale red bump and accompanying itch of a mosquito bite to form.