What time period did leonardo da vinci live in?

Leonardo da Vinci, was born April 15, 1452, in Anchiano, near Vinci, in the Republic of Florence [Italy]. He died May 2, 1519, in Cloux [now Clos-Lucé], France. He was an Italian painter, draftsman, sculptor, architect, and engineer.