What's a measure schmidt?

The Messerschmitt Bf 109 is a German World War II fighter aircraft It was one of the most advanced fighters when it first appeared, with an all-metal monocoque construction, a closed canopy, and retractable landing gear. It was powered by a liquid-cooled, inverted-V12 aero engine.