How many sonics are there?

As of 4/19/2017, There's two, classic Sonic and modern Sonic. Sonic Team and SEGA consider them different entities, not the same Sonic but time-shifted. They represent the two different brands (that aren't Boom), and any changes in modern's design are still under the umbrella of modern Sonic.