Does vinegar clean rust?

Vinegar is not good for removing rust, but try an overnight soak in regular Coca Cola. After a 3 day soak in Coke, my old stapler (which had been covered with rust) looked great. It was super easy to rub off the remaining rust areas with a soft cloth. (Any pitting caused by the rust will remain).