How does a yo yo work?

A yoyo is 2 discs held together by a central axle with a string wound around it. When you release the yoyo, gravity pulls it down causing the yoyo to rotate. When it reaches the end of the string, the torque of the spinning discs causes it to continue to spin, winding it's way back up the string.