What is a cotton stab?

You might be thinking of a cotton swabs, which are are handheld items that consist of one or two small wads of cotton wrapped around one or both ends of a short rod made of wood, rolled paper, or plastic. They are also commonly referred to by the popular brand name, Q-tip