What's the difference between a hurricane and a typhoon?

In general, both typhoons and hurricanes are tropical cyclones but differ in their locations. The difference between hurricane and typhoon is that tropical cyclones in the west Pacific are called Typhoons and in the Atlantic and east Pacific Ocean are called Hurricanes.

---

A hurricane and a typhoon differ only in where they originate; both are tropical cyclones with maximum sustained winds over 74 mph. If a tropical cyclone occurs in the North Atlantic or Central or North Pacific Oceans, it is called a hurricane. A cyclone in the northwest Pacific is called a typhoon.