What is the ark of triumph?

The Arc de Triomphe de l'Étoile is one of the most famous monuments in Paris, France standing at the western end of the Champs-Élysées at the centre of Place Charles de Gaulle, formerly named Place de l'Étoile — the étoile or "star" of the juncture formed by its twelve radiating avenues