Is the color orange named after the fruit?

The citrus definitely got named first. The earliest recorded use of orange the fruit in English is from the 1300s and came to us from the Old French orenge, adapted from the Arabic nāranj, from the Persian nārang, from the Sanskrit nāranga ("orange tree"). So the color was named after the fruit.

---

Yes, in English, the color orange is named after the ripe orange fruit.