Why is it so hot in the summer?

The sun is more directly overhead. Picture the sun's rays as a bunch of uncooked spaghetti. If you put the ends down at a 90 degree angle, all the ends will be in a smaller space than if you were to place them at a lesser angle. Same with the sun's rays. They are more concentrated in summer.