Why do some people call soda pop?

Depending on the area of the United States in which you live, the term "soda" or "pop" might be used to describe a carbonated soft drink. In the Central US for example, the term "pop" is most often used, but in the Eastern states such as New Jersey, "soda" is most prevalent.