How did baseball become a sport?

Baseball had evolved into an organized sport in the 1840s and 1850s. Many early teams were established in New York City and Brooklyn. Alexander Cartwright (of the Knickerbocker Base Ball Club), drew up rules that were widely adopted. By 1866 baseball was being referred to as the national pastime.