Was there a ship named the prometheus?

A ship named Prometheus really existed in 1899. It was part of the Royal Navy, the British warfare force, and it launched in 1898. Its full name was HMS Prometheus. But it wasn't a ship built for commercial purposes, and it never disappeared: it served the Navy for years and later was sold in 1914.