What do squirrels usually eat?

Squirrels are omnivores, and will eat plant leaves, stems, fruits, nuts, seeds, pine cones, small insects, worms, mushrooms, small snakes or frogs, and even junk food from humans if they can find them. Their preferred food is nuts and seeds. Frequently, they will bury them for later consumption.