What's molasses made out of?

The most common forms of molasses are made from either sugar cane or sugar beet juice which is boiled down to a syrup. Sugar crystals are extracted from the syrup, and the remaining dark liquid is molasses. Sugar crystals are extracted from the syrup, and the remaining dark liquid is molasses.