What's the mating season for squirrels?

Grey squirrels have 2 breeding periods per year, 1 in mid-summer and another in early spring. Young are usually born between March and April, with a 2nd litter arriving around July or August. Females may give birth to 1 to 9 babies at a time, though somewhere in the range of 3 to 5 is typical