Who is ivy baxter?

In the years pre-dating Jamaican independence, Ivy Baxter pioneered a new approach towards dance theatre as a community art form. Along with Beryl McBurnie and Lavinia Williams, she was known as one of the leading figures of Caribbean dance, pioneering what was called bare foot movement in the 1950s