Is dubai a dry country?

No, Dibai is not a dry country. UAE Residents can drink alcohol at home & in licensed venues. Liquor licences are still required for Residents in Dubai but are no longer required for Residents in Abu Dhabi and other Emirates (save for Emirate of Sharjah) to purchase alcohol for personal consumption.