Where do balloons come from?

The first rubber balloons were made by Professor Michael Faraday in 1824 for use in his experiments with hydrogen at the Royal Institution in London. "The caoutchouc (natural rubber) is exceedingly elastic", he wrote in the Quarterly Journal of Science the same year.