Why can't we talk to animals?

Why can’t humans talk with other animals? Intelligent animals may or may not have the ability to understand human speech, but no other animal has the hyoid bone that enables speech. It attaches to the tongue muscle and cartilage in the neck, allowing the physical movement enabling humans to speak.