What is the smallest state in russia?

States in Russia are called federal subjects. Nenets is a the smallest federal subject of Russia. Its administrative center is the town of Naryan-Mar. It has an area of 176,700 square kilometers (68,200 square miles) and a population of 42,090 as of the 2010 Census.