What does it mean when birds flock together?

A larger group of birds boasts a much better chance of spotting a predator, or other potential threat, than a single bird has. A group of birds may also be able to confuse or overwhelm a predator through 'mobbing' (when birds attack or chase a would-be predator, to drive it away) or agile flight.