What is preventative care?

Preventive healthcare, or prophylaxis, consists of steps taken for the purposes of disease prevention. Disease and disability are affected by environmental factors, genetics, disease agents, and lifestyle choices, and are dynamic processes which begin before individuals realize they are affected.