What are the rules for overtime in hockey?

During the regular season, NHL teams play a 5 minute overtime period. Each team has 3 skaters and a goalie. The first team to score wins. If no team scores, the game is decided by shootout. During the playoffs, teams play regular 20 minute overtime periods until a team scores.