Do bananas go bad faster in the fridge?

Putting ripe bananas in the fridge will help them stay ripe for a few days. However, if you put them in while they are still a bit green and hard then they won't ripen at all. Not even after you take them out of the fridge. And their skin will turn black. So yes, they can go bad in the fridge.