How do you measure measure a year?

A year is measured as the amount of time it takes the planet to revolve around the sun one full turn. It takes roughly 365 days for the Earth to orbit the Sun once. If it were exactly 365 days, we'd be all set! As it is, we have to add a day to the calendar every 4 years to make up the difference.