How long should i boil an egg?

On average, a fully hard-cooked egg should be boiled for 12 to 15 minutes. Steaming eggs over a rolling boil will give you a more consistent hard-cooked egg, at 12 minutes, every time. Soft-cooked eggs should be boiled or steamed for 3 minutes, 4 at the maximum.