What is rent stabilization?

Rent stabilization is a form of control over housing pricing that originated in the 20th century and is often described as a form of insurance for tenants against unreasonable rent increases.

---

Rent Stabilization is a system of laws to offset rent hikes when availability is limited. Laws can include rent control, rent increase limits, notification time limits, and the like.