What is melted glass called?

Melted glass is simply called molten glass. Glass melts are made by fusing (co-melting) silica with minerals, which contains the oxides needed to form a given composition. The molten mass is rapidly cooled to prevent crystallization and formed into glass fibers by a process known as fiberization.