Why did they name greenland greenland?

The name Greenland comes from Scandinavian settlers. In the Norse sagas, Erik the Red was exiled from Iceland for murder. He set out in ships to find land rumoured to be to the northwest. After settling there, he named the land Greenland, possibly to attract more people to settle there.