What's the origin of the word tootsie?

The word "tootsie" was originally a playful or nursery name for a small foot, from the childish pronunciation of foot as footsie. In the 1890s, it became tootsy-wootsy, a rhyming term of endearment for your sweetheart, who presumably had smaller feet than you did.