Who invented the origami fortune teller?

Don't be surprised if your grandparents know a thing or two about these origami fortune tellers. Murray and Rigney first introduced them in the United States back in 1928 as “Salt Cellars” in the origami book Fun with Paper Folding. Its original intent was to hold small pieces of food.