Why is poison ivy called poison ivy?

Poison ivy is so named because it often grows as a climbing vine (thus ivy) whose leaves contain the compound urushiol, a clear liquid compound in the plant's sap. Urushiol-induced contact dermatitis is an itchy, irritating, and sometimes painful rash, in most people who touch it (thus poison).