What's the difference between iceberg and romaine lettuce?

The main difference between romaine and iceberg lettuce is the micro-nutrient content. Romaine beats out iceberg in almost every nutrient category, especially Vitamin A, K, and Folate. Iceberg is what you think of when you think "head of lettuce," while Romaine is longer and less spherical in shape.