Who destroyed the aztec empire?

Hernan Cortés was the Spanish Conquistador who invaded the Aztecs, ultimately leading to the destruction of their empire. Cortés gained allies among local rivals during a smallpox outbreak. He captured the capital city, Tenochtitlan, on August 13, 1521. The rest of the empire fell within a decade.