How big was the biggest wave ever recorded?

The largest wave ever recorded was caused by an earthquake along the Fairweather Fault in the Alaska Panhandle. 40 million cubic yards of rock plunged 3000 feet into the Gilbert Inlet, generating a tsunami wave that reached 1720 feet above sea level.