How does an induction cooktop work?

Induction cooking heats pan by electrical induction, instead of transferring heat from flame or electrical heating element, requiring thus pan to be made of or contain a ferromagnetic metal, such as cast iron or stainless steel. Heat is generated directly by pan, resulting in more efficient cooking.