What was the cause of the duel between alexander hamilton and aaron burr?

The two men had long been political rivals, but the immediate cause of the duel was disparaging remarks Hamilton had allegedly made about Burr at a dinner, calling Burr “a dangerous man" and expressing a “more despicable opinion” of Burr.