Can avocados grow in north carolina?

Avocado varieties that originate from the subtropical highlands of Mexico should be hardy with winter protection in the USDA zone 8a+ areas of North Carolina. Some varieties are worth a try in Eastern NC if given the proper winter protection and general care.

---

Avocado varieties that originate from the subtropical highlands of Mexico should be hardy with winter protection in the USDA zone 8a+ areas of North Carolina.